Medical Licensure Policy
The State of California Business and Professions code Sections 2065 and 2066, states the following:
All graduates of foreign or domestic medical schools are allowed to train in an ACGME accredited training program for a maximum of two years without medical licensure. Graduates of foreign medical schools who have trained in a ACGME accredited program in another state; the period of time of that training reduces the amount of time allowed for unlicensed training in California.
Residents who continue to train after the two-year licensing exemption has expired may be fined by the Medical Board in amounts ranging from $100 to $2500 depending upon the severity of the violation.
The policy of the program will be as follows:
Effective January 1, 2020:
The minimum requirements for postgraduate training in California will require successful completion of thirty-six (36) months of a Board-approved program for all applicants, regardless of whether the medical school attended was domestic or international.
Note: SB 798 will change the current minimum requirements of postgraduate training for U.S./Canadian graduates requiring twelve (12) months and international medical school graduates requiring twenty-four (24) months to thirty-six months (36) of a Board-approved program.
A Postgraduate Training License (PTL) will be issued to all residents who are participating in a California ACGME program. The issuance of a PTL will allow residents to train without violating the law.
A trainee must obtain a PTL within 180 days after enrollment in a Board-approved
postgraduate program and would be valid until 90 days after the trainee has completed the required thirty-six (36) months of training.
In preparing for these new changes within your institution, it is strongly recommended that a trainee applying for a PTL immediately submit an application and all supporting documents required by the Board, as soon as he or she has confirmation of acceptance into a Board-approved program to avoid any interruptions with the trainee’s obligations.
After successful completion of thirty-six (36) months of training, the trainee will apply for a full and unrestricted license with the Board within 90 days to continue practicing medicine in California. Please note, the Board will not require the renewal of a PTL. However, the program must notify the Board if the trainee transfers to another Board-approved program, resigns, or is terminated. The Board must also be notified if the trainee’s program is extended for any reason(s), if the trainee takes a leave of absence and/or the trainee receives no credit for any rotation.